Boris Johnson’s Kipper stunt backfires

Friday 19th July 2019

In the last hustings for the Tory Party leadership on Wednesday, Boris Johnson won the hearts and minds of the Conservative membership by flourishing a kipper and explaining the ludicrous European rules that handcuffed the fisherman who caught it.

Of course props are always a great way to catch an audience’s attention, especially if it feeds into a story about the EU being ridiculous and was a PR masterpiece - if true!

Today, it was revealed that rather than sending fish in the post with accompanying ice being a dictat from Brussels, it was actually a UK regulation enforced by the British Food Standards agency.

It seems that once again, Boris Johnson has at worst lied for dramatic effect or at best, is surrounded by inept and ill-informed staff, focused on dramatic effect rather than content.

There have been numerous documentaries in the past week, which have highlighted Mr Johnson’s ability to bend the truth, whether in his role as journalist or cabinet minister and it seems that this is another indication of the awkward relationship the man has with the facts.

Whether this most recent faux-pas will deter tories from voting for him is unclear, and many have already cast their vote, but the bookies still have him way ahead of his rival Jeremy Hunt.

Many pundits are suggesting that Boris is so short on content and so full of filibuster at a time of constitutional chaos, that if he does manage to make it through the door of Number 10, it could well be one of the shortest premierships in UK history.

The country is certainly in need of a laugh at the moment, but perhaps finding the PM little more than a buffoon, is not the sort of remedy that is required.

Next Tory Leader

Boris Johnson 1/66
Jeremy Hunt 16/1
Penny Mordaunt SP
Damian Green SP
Theresa Villiers SP
Maria Miller SP
Kit Malthouse SP
George Freeman SP
George Osbourne SP
Graham Brady SP
Liam Fox SP
Sam Gyimah SP
Mark Harper SP
Kemi Badenoch SP
Stephen Crabb SP
Greg Clark SP
Damian Hinds SP
Philip Hammond SP
Zac Goldsmith SP
David Lidington SP
Anna Soubry SP
Liz Truss SP
Dominic Grieve SP
James Brokenshire SP
Robert Halfon SP
Johnny Mercer SP
Adam Afriyie SP
Michael Fallon SP
Andrea Leadsom SP
Owen Paterson SP
Nick Herbert SP
Daniell Hannan SP
Justine Greening SP
Priti Patel SP
Matthew Hancock SP
Amber Rudd SP
Steve Baker SP
Nigel Farage SP
Dominic Rabb SP
Ester Mcvey SP
Greg Hands SP
Tobias Ellwood SP
Ken Clarke SP
Tom Tugendhat SP
Jesse Norman SP
Esther Mcvey SP
Jacob Rees- Mogg SP
Kwasi Kwarteng SP
Rishi Sunak SP
David Davis SP
Geoffrey Cox SP
Sajid Javid SP
Iain Duncan Smith SP
Karen Bradley SP
Claire Perry SP
Ruth Davidson SP
Gavin Williamson SP
Nicky Morgan SP
Rory Stewart SP
Michael Gove SP
Grant Shapps SP
David Cameron SP
Jo Johnson SP
James Cleverly SP
Edward Vaizey SP
Each Way Terms

Next Tory Leader

Odds correct as of 19th Jul, 10:11 . Odds are subject to change.
Latest UK Articles